Classic tattoo art

July 16, 2011 § 5 Comments

20110716-045511.jpg
the colors aren’t really my cup of tea, but the design is a keeper

20110716-045522.jpg
this was everyone’s favorite, it took me forever. I do love working in some graphite though…

20110716-045530.jpg
a classic skull and swords and cross thing…think pirates.

20110716-050308.jpg
this is a banner I made, thinking about making it a permanent on the blog or gravatar

I was hard at work the last two days drawing, drawing, drawing! I did at least four new pages in the sketchbook, which means I am getting down to the nitty-gritty. I am so excited to finish it! I can’t believe that I actually completed it up to this point. I’ll post the new video as soon as I am done. I also did some work on the side…

I had a craving for some graphite on my hands so I brought out some old techniques. I was having a discussion about classic tattoo art and the possibilities that it can bring for an artist. I have never tattooed anyone in my life, but I am sure that I could design a tattoo. I wrote a similar post back in May about it. Since I have been in New York, that’s all I see. I have also been interested in them, wanted them, and thought about how many amazing tattoos exist.

I tried to put my own little spin on them, with my graffiti/edgy style. Classic with a touch of modern and young. I am not sure what is missing but I feel like the project isn’t complete. Maybe some classic colors? Or sailor mermaids and “mom” written in a bleeding heart! More research, more work, and more motivation will get this where I need it to be.

And by the way, I had over 40 views yesterday about my blog moving and only four comments. Does that mean that I shouldn’t move because I had so many people reading yesterday? Or does it mean that 40 people read but doesn’t care enough to put their two cents in? I just don’t know…

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Classic tattoo art

  • Love those tats… You are good…. no, amazing. I didn’t see yesterday’s post, but I know I’ll have an opinion. LOL Let me go check it out. I don’t get many comments either. Dunno what that’s about…

  • lesliepaints says:

    I really like the classic look of your banner tattoo, Ronny.
    I think there are a lot more viewers than commenters.

  • Ana Benaroya says:

    i actually really like the first, really colorful one…i think it matches the rest of your work the best.

  • Hi Roni! I’m so glad to have some time tonight to surf your blog! I miss it, and you, so much!:-) I promise I will e-mail you this week, so we can catch up!

    Your tats are awesome…I’m constantly amazed at how you are able to draw and create in such different styles. All of them are wonderful, and I love all of them…but I think my favorite would be the first one, because I think it best fits your vibrant, fun, adventurous spirit!

    Your idea for a new banner is lovely, too…very sophisticated! Can’t wait to see it on the site!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Classic tattoo art at bad jones rising.

meta

