Ugly art

July 9, 2011 § 4 Comments

20110709-092722.jpg
what’s he staring at? Or who is staring at him?

20110709-092729.jpg
up close and personal

20110709-092742.jpg
this is the result of boredom

20110709-092810.jpg
so ugly, it’s cute

People sometimes keep the kind of art that they do when they are bored. It’s usually tucked away in the old sketchbook, on loose leaf paper, in envelopes, maybe even the fridge. I keep mine, for the first time ever, because I must be crazy. I used to throw it all away, but now I keep it so I can cut it up and use later. Those two ugly guys you see above are the result of boredom.

The first one is a two-page spread that isn’t quite complete. I’m not sure how to clean it up, or if I should just leave it. I had originally drew the little bighead on watercolor paper but the colors got muddy, so I cut him up and glued him up nice and neat. He fits well enough, but maybe some words for company? The second ugly guy, is of the spiky sort and inside of a flowerpot. This is something I have drawn before but a little neater.

The point of this post is to tell you that art is good, even when it’s bad. Honestly. If you hate it, keep it. Someone might like it, you could cut it up or alter it later. You could use it for reference or just to laugh at. I know I sound bonkers but it’s all true. I made a resolution that I was going to keep my bad art, and I have only gotten good things out of it.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Ugly art

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ugly art at bad jones rising.

meta

