Black moon rising

July 4, 2011 § 3 Comments

20110703-041255.jpganother dreamcatcher, less optimistic in design

20110703-041301.jpgrock cities are never-ending

20110703-041307.jpgtriangles and mountains and volcanoes erupting

20110703-041313.jpganti and some brain matter

20110703-041319.jpgthis was colorful, maybe a neat painting?

20110703-041329.jpgall my ideas and sketches and moods can be summed up by this page. The blackout poetry reads: “dark and anonymous people have spiritual memories and transient moments”

Forgive me art world, for I have sinned. I have a confession to make…
I have always worked diligently and enthusiastically when it comes to art. I am mostly self taught, except for what I learned in high school and a bit a art college. I try to find new art, new artists, and new ideas and techniques every, single, day. The problem comes when I can’t execute them correctly, or in an appealing manner. If you are an artist or not you know that life’s worry and stress can sometimes get in the way. When I get to this point I seem fold in my feathers, tuck in my wings, and waddle backwards!

I confess that sometimes I create artwork just to create. Granted, pulling out all my art supplies and doodling is somewhat “brainstorming” but is that really a way to create? I have this bad habit of drawing the same thing over 30 different ways, or just spilling paint into my sketchbook with no direction. I paint this way and it’s usually always successful. But when it comes to sketchbooks, it’s a whole different story.

The point is I have been tossing and turning lately. I haven’t been sleeping well, and even had some strange dreams. I’m not really stressed, just working on a lot of stuff. I have to make stencils, do some silkscreening, finish some large scale drawings, and work on my blog. Plus, deal with crazy, New York! Ahh, the pressure. I feel like there really is a black moon rising, and the eclipse might bring some awesome artwork. Are these pages a sign of what’s to come? Ominous and foreboding, or a sneak peek to some dark art done in my edgy style?

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Black moon rising

  • lesliepaints says:

    Well, you have the company of self-taught artists who scrounge through techniques in books and pick up workshops and tutorials online to futrthur their work. You are in the company of others who make marks on paper, daily. No sin at all! I totally enjoy your sketchbook pages. Great deal of time and feeling put into them.

  • yeeees! do the lioness in a painting… would be fabulous! are you working on it yet? LOL

  • Ana Benaroya says:

    love that last really dark spread. really strong composition.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Black moon rising at bad jones rising.

meta

