Julia Rothman’s Drawn In Release Party

July 2, 2011 § 3 Comments

20110701-044740.jpg
this was the best picture I took in Chelsea, before I went to Dumbo

20110701-044750.jpg
graffiti on an italian bread truck

20110701-044758.jpg
huge, rainbow mural on Water St., Dumbo

20110701-044805.jpg
view from under the bridge, sunset

20110701-044814.jpg
sketchbook table with event staff and guests

20110701-044819.jpg
a lot of people showed up

20110701-044251.jpg
click this picture! it’s a neat 360 view, frame by frame

Julia Rothman runs one of my favorite websites of all time, Book By Its Cover. I have been reading it for so long and hoping and wishing I could participate in some of the many events she offers. Of course, since I recently moved to NY, I finally got to attend something. Julia Rothman has a new book out called Drawn In and it is full of inspiring photos and interviews of artists that keep regular sketchbooks.

I am always inspired when I go to Dumbo, it is full of art and music, everywhere. As soon as I got there all I wanted to do was take pictures and pick up things to collage with and sketch until my fingers fell off. I did finally make it to the Powerhouse Bookstore and was pleasantly surprised. It is a neat bookstore, with publishing offices on the second floor. They were playing Radiohead, I got to drink delicious wine, and look at some really great sketchbooks. There were a lot but I think I had a few favorites. Ana Benaroya, Ben Finer, and Jen Corace really stood out. I have seen Jen Corace’s work in Philly. I love sketchbooks, as you know. I think more art shows should be like Julia’s. Lots of neat people, willing to talk and ask questions, music, wine, and plenty of good vibes. I felt like I fit in and I can’t wait to get the book. Of course, if you haven’t ever visited Book By Its Cover, get on it and tell me what you think!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Julia Rothman’s Drawn In Release Party

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Julia Rothman’s Drawn In Release Party at bad jones rising.

meta

