Linda’s Spring Challenge

June 22, 2011 § 5 Comments

20110621-082740.jpgOriginal photo

20110621-082751.jpgmy final piece

20110621-082802.jpgup close & personal

Linda’s blogging challenge was something that I was really excited to participate in. I was really surprised that it was such a difficult task! Linda, runs one of the best blogs around, and it has become a daily read. She challenged everyone to read, and hopefully be inspired to do a piece of art or writing. The quote, “the leaping greenly spirits of trees”, from e.e. cummings, became the main prompt.

I am in NYC now and didn’t have a lot of “nature” to inspire me. So, I took a recent photo from my album and painted it. I had originally posted the photo of the Eastern Field at my parents’ house here. It was nice to study the picture, and paint a spin on it. I really don’t paint like this, but I think I might do it more often. It was so difficult for me to lay down the right layers, place the right brushstrokes, and actually be comfortable with showing it. I will say, I am proud of it. Make sure you check out everyone’s submissions at Linda’s.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Linda’s Spring Challenge

  • lesliepaints says:

    Hi Ronny! I am into this landscape you did! Nice touch on that sienna color running through the foreground yellows. Pushes my eyes right up into the trees. I also like those misty areas you included. Gives it a feeling that the scene is coming to life at the begginning of the day.

  • Nuno says:

    Really nice work! I like the idea of using a photo: it is a “double” challenge.

  • I love the warm palette and the texture in your painting. I also really love the rough, unfinished edges of the painting. Never thought about doing this…I always tape off for smooth edges or use a block…and ditto to Leslie’s comments. NYC must be a culture shock after living in this beautiful area.

  • Hey Ronny! Thanks so very much for the inspiring Times Square postcard I received yesterday! I love the dynamics and energy portrayed by the lights and darks on the card….it certainly inspired me and brightened my day!

    I love-love-love this painting, too! The gold tones really bring home autumn to me…I recognize this field as this is how the treelines and fields around where I grew up in eastern Wisconsin (close to Lake Michigan) appear in late August and September, especially as the sun begins to go down!

    I will definitely visit Linda’s blog, to find out more about her challenges!

  • Zeinab-Art says:

    mmmmmmmmmmm, nice painting!
    But I really like you next post (jelly fish) , they are lovely!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Linda’s Spring Challenge at bad jones rising.

meta

