New sketchbook

June 8, 2011 § 3 Comments

20110607-085400.jpgfirst page of my new sketchbook!

20110607-085426.jpgsecond page, lots of skulls with bodies

20110607-085523.jpgdetail

I bought a new sketchbook last week and I am already 3 pages in! The first two pages were just quick spur-of-the-moment things. I have a plan, for media and technique, but I just had to put pencil to paper! If you have ever owned a new sketchbook, you must know the eagerness I felt!

The first page is a collage I did in literally 10 minutes, not the most exciting composition but I wanted to include the beer labels. Brooklyn Summer Ale, brewed right here in the city, is really good pale ale for hot weather. I liked the gold in them and glued them in my book for safe keeping. The second page is just a late night sketch. I draw these funny skull guys sometimes when I’m thinking or on the phone. I used Crayola crayons for the reds and yellows. I think I want to draw them again just to add some detail and lots of colors. Mixed media is calling my name…

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to New sketchbook

  • Love the inaugural artwork in your brand new book! I am two pages from finishing my first-ever art journal, and my mind is buzzing with the possibilities for my next one…size, shape, cover, etc., so I know exactly the sense of excitement you’re feeling!

    We are getting hit with major HEAT right now in Wisconsin…it was 100 degrees where I live this afternoon, with a heat index a few degrees higher. I could really use some of that Brooklyn Summer Ale!

  • Chongolio says:

    I like the little skellies! very cool and colorful!

  • John Casey says:

    I had some of those Brooklyn beers last time I was in NY. Good beer!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New sketchbook at bad jones rising.

meta

