Finally, New York

June 4, 2011 § 1 Comment

20110602-090009.jpg42nd St. is for the tourists. I won’t be down here much, not really my pint of beer. The stores are too crowded, the signs are too big, the streets are too loud

20110602-090025.jpgbright lights, street lights, cop lights, flash lights

20110602-090057.jpghad to take a picture of the scrapers of the sky

20110602-090114.jpgthe one cool thing about NY subways are the mosaic murals, this one reminds me of roy lichtenstein every time I see it

20110602-090128.jpguptown, Harlem. brownstones, where the real people live

NEW YORK. I really don’t know what to say or how to put in words the feelings that are burning in my soul. I have been to NY plenty of times since I fell in love but never have I felt so free! I arrived yesterday and was very tired so the mister and I ordered chinese and slept, slept, slept. Today, I woke up late and got dressed for the most beautiful weather. The first order of business was to buy a sketchbook. There is a great two-story Dick Blick on Bond St. I bought a new sketchbook (with multi-media paper), 3 Visions (some of my favorite sketching pens), and a binder with clear covers. The binder was on sale for $2.17! Great buy! I haven’t had a sketchbook for at least 3 months now (shameful, I know) so all of my sketches have been on loose-leaf paper. I also have all of the recent beer labels I have been saving and I picked up plenty of NY art brochures, and postcards. The point is, lots of uh-mazing artwork is coming your way! New York, New York, New York. “Give my regards to Broadway”, I have got art to do!

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Finally, New York

  • Hey friend! I’ve been waiting to see pics of the Big Apple, and here they are! How awesome! My fave is the one of the “scrapers of the sky”! That phrase says it all!

    Thanks again for your wise words of support this week…it’s meant a lot, and has helped me to gain perspective about what’s going on now and what could be next for me!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Finally, New York at bad jones rising.

meta

