Hello card, 2/2

June 2, 2011 § Leave a comment

20110531-112351.jpglaying down color, placing flowers

20110531-112443.jpgdetail of watercolor and ink flowers

20110531-112630.jpgfront of card, layering technique

20110531-112714.jpgdetail of front

I have a pretty standard way of making cards, and paintings in general. I always prep the paper or canvas with washes and mixed media collage, and work it up in layers. Lately, I have found this process gets easier if I make the second layer a repetitive pattern or motif. This works great for cards, stickers, and bookmarks.

For this card I chose the flower motif I have been using lately. I have been seeing these flowers in my dreams. I have actually posted similar pictures here, here, and here. The lady I am giving this card to is one of the sweetest people I have ever met. She told me her favorite color is green and I figured a little blue and yellow wouldn’t hurt considering green wouldn’t exist without them! I really think she will like it. I feel like all cards should be artwork. Some people throw cards away, or stash them away in a box. My goal is to create cards that people will want to share. I want the cards to be a piece of art within itself, with a mat and frame if it fits. This goal makes making greeting cards much more enjoyable, especially knowing I could sell them sometime soon.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hello card, 2/2 at bad jones rising.

meta

