Thank you card, 1/2

May 31, 2011 § 2 Comments

20110531-104857.jpgtin full of watercolor pencils20110531-104906.jpgbeginning of something hallmark worthy20110531-104929.jpgfront cover20110531-104939.jpgfront detail, note the layers

I have been doing some odds and ends when it comes to artwork. Nothing too fancy because of all the NY talk in my life. I did get a chance to make some greeting cards for some friends. I also am working on custom envelopes for the odd-shaped cards. They came out big and very square, but who minds that?

The above card is 1/2, done in all watercolor and ink. I cut the original piece and glued it to another front piece. It gives it some “oomph” and some extra texture. I really like the colors in this one. It’s a very “summer afternoon margarita in the sun” color scheme. The lady I made it for has never seen any of my artwork, and isn’t very artistic or knowledgable about art. I wanted to excite her senses without turning her off of my style. Some people are so uncomfortable about art. People are afraid of what they don’t know.

What do you think? Is it too crazy? Or would you buy it off of a Hallmark shoppe card rack?

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Thank you card, 1/2

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thank you card, 1/2 at bad jones rising.

meta

