Tattoo testing 123

May 23, 2011 § 4 Comments

20110522-053739.jpg

20110522-053751.jpg

20110522-053847.jpg

I never draw tattoos, even for my friends. Having your artwork on somebody’s skin is quite an honor. To me, it is more of a burden and responsibility. The problem is that most artwork never gets rendered in the way that it should by tattoo artists. If I had actual tattooing skills, I would be doing it all the time. The thought of someone else drawing my work, with a needle on skin, is awkward to me.

Lately though, I have been getting tons of requests. Enough requests to actually change my mind about doing commissions and start making some money off these sketches. The cool thing about drawing things for other people is the lack of attachment to the piece. I love everything I draw in my sketchbooks, but if it’s for someone else I seem to be able to let it go easier.

The picture above was an idea for a tattoo I had. My sister loved it and said it would work on skin. Some people get the strangest things on their bodies. I think I’ll stick with the basics for now. Black and white, plain and simple. Luckily, there are these magical things called microns to sketch until I can learn how to airbrush hibiscus flowers. Ha!

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to Tattoo testing 123

  • Awesome sketches! I would love to see photos of the tattoos once they’re on the body parts of your customers!:-)

    Also, I appreciate the title of this post…last night I was playing around with embedding a video clip into a blog post, and used the phrase “Testing 123” over and over to check the sound!

    Have a great day!

  • lesliepaints says:

    My son is a tattoo artist and has artists’ flash all over the walls of his shop. I know how you feel about having someone else transpose your art but there are quite a few artists who supplement therir fine art income by drawing flash. Nice black and white, Ronny. I am in agreement about the choices people make for their tattoos. šŸ™‚

  • […] lately. I have been seeing these flowers in my dreams. I have actually posted similar pictures here, here, and here. The lady I am giving this card to is one of the sweetest people I have ever met. She told […]

  • […] I have never tattooed anyone in my life, but I am sure that I could design a tattoo. I wrote a similar post back in May about it. Since I have been in New York, that’s all I see. I have also been […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tattoo testing 123 at bad jones rising.

meta

