Funny faces

May 7, 2011 § 6 Comments

20110507-065929.jpg
A devil for my parent’s fridge

20110507-070215.jpg
A gift for John Casey

20110507-070319.jpg
A birthday card for my Pop

20110507-070632.jpg
This is a detail of an art journal page from summer of ’09

I was going through some pics on my phone and realized I have tons of sketches of great faces. I sketch monsters and strange people with big noses all the time. Most of them are done in ink or graphite, never finished products. I found these four and thought they would be a great example of my style. I usually work in ink and watercolor when I do actually ink in a piece. Finished products are rare and most of them go into my portfolio. The photos above are not part of the final pieces but gifts for people.

Big noses, droopy eyes, teeth, and unusual color schemes are probably the best way I can describe them. Things always change but after looking over old sketchbooks and new pictures of current work, this is pretty standard for me. Most of these funny looking guys go on birthday, Mother’s day, or Get Well Soon cards. My mother, bless her heart, wants me to go into the greeting card business. She thinks I have the best birthday cards in the world. What she doesn’t know is that I do not want to really work for Hallmark. If the opportunity arose to build my own card business, I might consider it…

Which one is your favorite? Do you like them better than my graphite sketches? Are they Hallmark quality images? Would you buy one? Let me know…Hope you are having a great weekend.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Funny faces

  • lesliepaints says:

    These faces make me smile. Yes. I think they could be greeting cards, but I think your sketchbook pages could be, also.
    My favorite is the one for your Mom. But the blue-green eyes in your Pop’s Birthday card are awesome, also.

  • Hands down, I like the “bored” card the best, b/c whenever I’ve got nothing to do, it puts me in a monster of a bad mood (just ask my hubby, who has to live with it!:-). I think all of these would be great cards…they are raw, earthy, and real, just like real life. I prefer these images to the sugary-sweet, it’s-a-wonderful-life Hallmarky illustrations that seem to gloss over anything truly human or of substance!

    I always look forward to seeing your comments on my blog–you are too funny, and know just what to say to brighten my day!:-)

  • PS–thanks for the compliments on my new header and my hair! My hair and I have always had a love-hate relationship…it’s naturally curly, and even when I try to disguise it by blow-drying and straightening it, the back part of it likes to be stubborn and wavy… 🙂

  • Hi there! I just finished making the last little edits on my latest post–and when I scrolled down, it was such a pleasant surprise to see your really awesome remarks! I am so fortunate to have you as a blogging buddy! I was nervous about posting this journal, as it is a project full of first’s…but I feel much more confident now! Thanks for your feedback and compliments! They mean so so much!:-)

  • chongolio says:

    Hey Bad Jones really like these faces! very fun to look and would look really good on tshirts! Keep up the creativity!

  • These faces are great! Yah, t-shirts, avatars, greeting cards… Are you familiar with Etsy? You could reproduce these and sell them there. Very cool.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Funny faces at bad jones rising.

meta

