Art of a nomad

May 4, 2011 § 2 Comments

no·mad
Pronunciation: \ˈnō-ˌmad, British also ˈnä-\
Function: noun
Etymology: Latin nomad-, nomas member of a wandering pastoral people, from Greek, from nemein
Date: 1579
1 : a member of a people who have no fixed residence but move from place to place usually seasonally and within a well-defined territory
2 : an individual who roams about
— nomad adjective
— no·mad·ism \ˈnō-ˌma-ˌdi-zəm\ noun

20110504-014706.jpg

20110504-014721.jpg

20110504-015010.jpg

I am really excited to tell you guys I have signed up for a new project. I don’t know if this is a good idea with moving, working, and the summer season coming but I am going for it. Sometimes, art, even in busy times, can do wonders. It may keep me sane through the crazy times coming!

My friend Mary and I are going to start a collaboration. We talked about doing something big, but we decided on starting a new sketchbook. She has a neat accordion book and we are going to send it back and forth. I have seen a lot of really great collabs like this but we want to put a different spin on things. We also have a great theme which I will tell you about later. I hope to include the works in progress, sources of inspiration, and finished pages.

I have limited art supplies right now. I am excited to see what kind of work I can produce under these strange, nomadic times in the warm seasons. I included some pictures from my hotel art table. I have only been doodling. I plan to go out to the boardwalk or the beach and get some real sketching done this weekend. Wish me luck!

* I would also like to thank everyone for reading and commenting. My last post was a popular one and I have been getting some consistency in views. I would like to ask you to comment though, if you are reading. I write this blog in hopes to reach people. I could always use some extra words. Thanks again. It means a lot.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Art of a nomad

  • lesliepaints says:

    Hi Bad Jones,
    Ah the dastardly supply story. Seems to me you are creating very interesting images with what you have, so far. I am interested to follow your collaboration. Love the quirky face of the gent in your second photo. 🙂

  • Hey friend! I’m excited to hear about your collaboration! I look forward to seeing the fruits of your labor soon! I’m glad also to hear that you’re planning to take your art (and all the supplies, of course!:-) on the road! I did that in Florida, and the ability to create in spite of the fact that I was traveling made my trip even better!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Art of a nomad at bad jones rising.

meta

