Good things come in threes

April 29, 2011 § Leave a comment

20110428-073933.jpg
bright colors to inspire a bright future

I have been a bit occupied lately with packing boxes and moving things. I will confess, blogging has become a bit frustrating for me. I want to feel the excitement I had when I first started and hope someone out there will appreciate all my hard work. Good blogging isn’t an easy task. I read so many successful blogs, and wonder what makes them successful. I read so many articles on “real blogging”, “artful and mindful blogging”, and worse “quit while you are ahead”. I love this blog, and it was something I would have never thought of doing a year ago. I think I have been doing a fine job of posting interesting things and am quite glad of my growth. Of course, in the end, I am doing it for me and if no one likes it, they don’t have to read it! I have never written a mission statement and I don’t really think it’s all that necessary. However, I am going to attempt to re-evaluate my original purpose here, and write my goals as clearly as possible.

1. My goal since the fall has been to create artwork every, single day. I think I did this 99% of the time. Missing one day a week, even two days, is a great feat. On the blog I would like to post the artwork in progress, sketches, and tiny ideas with big potential. Consistent blogging about art will keep me inspired. I do not want to run an art blog, there are just so many. I would like to run a blog that asks the questions that everyone is afraid to. I want to write about things people aren’t comfortable with. I am not afraid of the art world. Showing artwork, art spaces, and talking about inspiration is the best way to stay motivated and encourage other people in the process. I have done more artwork in the last 6 months that I did all of last year. Truth.

2. I would really like to teach people about art, and how to create it. I am not a teacher, but I bet you I could be a pretty good one. One of my dreams in life is to teach workshops for people who don’t think they could learn how to draw. I know so many people that think art is for nerds and weirdos. Art is good for your soul and I hope that one day, I can teach people this. I would love to do tutorials, step-by-step how-tos, Q&A with my readers, and even requests. Since art takes time, the possibilities are endless, and it could span over a long period of time.
-I am also adamant about working with inexpensive art supplies. I am the quintessential artist, and I love the golden brushes, bright acrylics, and cool foreign pens just as much as the next guy, but you don’t need those things to be an artist. You definitely don’t need expensive art materials to make good art. My main man, Leonardo only had parchment and sepia ink half the time. Wonder what he would do with Prismacolors, Winston oils, and some Arches paper or a light table!? You don’t need to go to an expensive art college, and wear all black, and listen to melacholy music to call yourself an artist. Believe me, I know from experience. If you would like to talk further about this and my credentials, feel free to email me anytime.

3. The last thing I would really like to achieve with my blog is to be a part of a bigger, better artist community. Of course that may mean a smaller, close-knit group, but I am sure it will be better. Being online brings a lot of trouble when it comes to “real artists doing real work“, which is something you have probably heard me say before. There is more to it that being Shepard Fairey, showing at every gallery Juxtapoz magazine advertises, and having teenagers tattoo themselves with your artwork. There is more to graffiti and street art than Banksy and the overpriced books you see in Barnes & Noble. You do not need to graduate with honors from 3 different art colleges with a minor in art therapy to be successful. I want to use my blog to shed light on these things. It seems like everyone is afraid to say it. I want to find people, poor and talented, just like me, through my blog. I know there are some really great people out there that don’t even have a blog that could produce some fine work to sell. I am sure there are people out there that would just love to make stickers, bookmarks, and even fine prints for a shop around the corner but are afraid to do so.
-Putting my artwork out into the world, especially on the internet is one of the hardest things I have ever done. Even though I still get nervous and anxious about it, I do it because in the end it’s just artwork. My ideas expressed. If i did it once, I can do it again. I want to become part of a community, even if I have to create it myself. A collective of sorts, or people doing what they love most, not to become rich a famous, but because of the love of art. Make art or die.

So there you go. Create good artwork daily, teach artwork as much as possible, be true to myself and learn and grow on the way with like-minded people. That was easy, huh?

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Good things come in threes at bad jones rising.

meta

